Pride awards date announced

Pride awards date announced
17 October 2013

Glitz and glamour for our new-look awards night 

The Trust has given its annual staff awards a major make-over. 

February 2014 will be the 10th annual staff awards night. To reflect the importance and value placed on staff, the awards have been renamed the PRIDE Awards – linking them to the Trust’s five values – Passion, Respect, Innovation, Determination and Excellence. 

For the first time, there is a special public award - The People’s Champion Award - with the public invited to nominate their local stars. 

Patients, their families or visitors can nominate any individual, or a team of people, who they think have gone beyond the call of duty to make a real difference to the Trust and the people it serves. This includes the Community Hospitals in Tamworth and Lichfield and Queen’s Hospital Burton. 

A nomination form is available via the website and paper copies are available from the three hospital sites. 

The eight other categories, the winners of which will come from internal Trust nominations made by colleagues and fellow professionals, include:

  • Excellence in Patient Experience Award. This award could go to an individual or team demonstrating exceptional work on behalf of patients.
  • Living the Values Award. This award aims to recognise the people who have made BHFT a great place to work, by ‘living’ the Trust’s five key values.
  • Raising Respect Award. This award will recognise someone whose work or actions have enhanced the Trust’s reputation locally, nationally or even internationally
  • Outstanding Innovation Award. This award seeks to recognise innovative work that has resulted in real benefits for patient care and patient experience.
  • Determination Award. This award is for those people who have shown determination to persevere in the face of obstacles.
  • Outstanding Financial Achievement Award. This award recognises a team, or an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to saving money, or increasing income.
  • Excellence in Safety Award. This award recognises initiatives that make life and work safer for patients, hospital visitors, staff and volunteers.
  • Outstanding Learning and Development Award. This award recognises those who have developed their own skills and abilities and those who devise and create ways through which other staff can learn and develop. 

In addition to these, there will be two other special awards - GEM of the Year Award – chosen from the quarterly winners of the GEM (Going the Extra Mile) Awards. Details about GEM are available via the website. 

The top award of the night will be a Distinguished Service Award made to one very special person chosen by the senior team for outstanding service to the Trust. 

Chief Executive Helen Ashley said: “I know that across our three hospitals we have passionately committed and talented teams and individuals who are consistently delivering outstanding high quality care and service on the frontline to our patients and the public. We also have many people working behind the scenes creating and implementing innovative ways of working which help us to continuously improve and achieve our vision to be the local healthcare provider of choice and deliver the best patient experience possible. 

“It’s vitally important to me, and all the Executive team, that we publicly recognise and celebrate the achievements of all our staff and volunteers and showcase the many reasons we have to be proud of our Trust. I hope everyone will find the new style awards night inspiring, motivating and fun.” 

  • GEM Going that extra mile
  • Top 40 Hospital Winner
  • NHS Choices
  • Urdu Polski
  • Burton Clinic